What I saved in 2019 by using the library

Hey, so I made a post about using my local library in 2018 and how I managed to save £317 so I wanted to do this for each year as I love my library service (I think I’m the number 1 fan judging by how much I talk about it on here).

I read a lot of books during 2019 and managed to exceed my Goodreads goal of 70 books by reading 78. Of these 78 books, I borrowed 37 from the library and now that I’ve gone through this list of titles and counted up all the pennies that I would have spent on these books using the paperback prices (*unless a new release in which case I used the hardcover price) on Amazon which leads me to the tidy sum of money spent on being a nerd in 2019.

Here’s a rundown on the savings:

On Balance – Sinead Morrissey – £7.69

An Amorous Discourse In The Suburbs of Hell – Deborah Levy – £7.99

You Do You – Sarah Knight – £6.73

Hinch Yourself Happy – Mrs Hinch – £6.49

Invisible Women – Caroline Criado Perez – £7.99

Postmortem – Patricia Cornwell – £7.37

Codename Villanelle – Luke Jennings – £6.99

The Five – Hallie Rubenhold – £12.99

Dark Matter – Blake Crouch – £7.37

Weight – Jeanette Winterson – £3.20

The Leper House – Andrew Taylor – £0.99

The Binding – Bridget Collins – £16.99

Why We Sleep – Matthew Walker – £5.99

Fox 8 – George Sanders – £7.99

The Meg – Steve Alten – £7.54

Develop Your Assertiveness – The Sunday Times – £13.55

The Killing Lessons – Saul Black – £8.19

Cut To The Bone – Alex Caan – £7.99

Penhallow – Georgette Heyer – £7.89

A Manual for Heartbreak – Cathy Rentzenbrink – £6.49

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls – Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo – £18.05

The Life Plan – Shannah Kennedy – £11.99

The Vampyre – John Polidori – £5.59

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan – £5.72

Mansfield Park – Jane Austen – £5.39

The President Is Missing – James Patterson and Bill Clinton – £4.50

We’ll All Be Murdered In Our Beds – Duncan Campbell – £10.44

Big Magic – Elizabeth Gilbert – £7.38

Mean Girls – Nicol Ostow – £7.40

Picnic at Hanging Rock – Joan Lindsay – £6.95

Give Me Your Hand – Megan Abbot – £6.49

Everything I Know About Love – Dolly Alderton – £7.37

The Corset – Laura Purcell – £6.55

Melmoth – Sarah Perry – £7.31

Good Muslim Boy – Osamah Sami – £6.02

The Little Snake – AL Kennedy – £5.94

Final Girls – Riley Sager – £7.15

This gives me a total of £288.66 of savings in 2019! Not as much as in 2018 but this was a really good reading year for me compared to 2020 which isn’t much of a surprise because of how 2020 treated us all.

Author: beck

28 year old female reader from the UK!

3 thoughts on “What I saved in 2019 by using the library”

  1. I love when people use resources that Libraries have to offer. 🙂
    The Library I work at started putting how much money you saved by using the Library at the bottom of every receipt. It has a total for that day and then a year total.

    Like

Leave a comment