December #TBR

December is always a busy month so I thought why not try and move house the week of my birthday and leave everything to the last minute? I still want to read though!

Last month I read my 43rd book of the year and I’m so proud that I’ve persisted and worked on my mental health and just…been a lot happier this year (and it hasn’t been easy). I want to keep up the momentum and carry on reading during the most wonderful time of the year so I put together a list of books to get me going, I can pick and choose from these books!

I’ll start with what I’m currently reading. As I’m writing this, I’m reading Milkman by Anna Burns. This won the Man Booker Prize this year and I want to keep up with book prizes in the future, reading at least the winners if not the nominees as well. Milkman is about a young woman who becomes the subject of gossip in her town due to her rumoured relationship with the Milkman, so far it’s really good which gives me a bit of faith in the MB prize which I had lost a bit ago. I’m also listening to Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand which is about another small town but has a supernatural element, girls disappear in the town and it’s due to some strange shape-shifting creature?? I’m still confused but enjoying it.

For the rest of the month, I want to choose from (*=library):

  • If Cats Disappeared From The World by Genki Kawamura – this one has been lent to me by my boyfriend’s mum when she mentioned it to him and he told her I’d been looking at it a couple of times, she said there are some sad bits because I like cats and the title makes me think it might be to do with cats disappearing.
  • The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell – I saw her at an event last week and she was so lovely and listening to her speak about the research that goes into her writing was so interesting and so cool, I knew when I got my ticket that I wanted to get this book but her explaining how she wrote it with the different narrative threads just made me NEED to read it soon (also she has a new release called The Corset about a seamstress accused of murder).
  • This Is Going To Hurt by Adam Kay – I just need to read it. I got it when it came out and I still haven’t. I’ve even been enjoying watching The Good Doctor (omg watch it) and shouting out when I recognise something (like when he thought a patient had Langerhan’s and I got excited) so I just need to bite the bullet and read it.
  • The End We Start From by Megan Hunter – I got this after finishing The Power because Naomi Alderman blurbed it and it just looks so good and after reading Vox I want a bit more dystopia about motherhood.
  • Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson* – I enjoyed going back to John Green so much I wanted to pick up Maureen’s newest book to check in with those guys, it’s been a while.
  • Melmoth by Sarah Perry* – this book has been hyped so much I feel like I’ve been waiting so long to read it. I’m due to receive it soon on my library app and I can’t wait!

What are you reading this month? Have you read any of these or are they on your TBR too?

Author: beck

28 year old female reader from the UK!

Leave a comment